Even a shift from hell isn’t all that bad…

1500469491_22319463093_o

The worst shift from hell is still not the hell our Veterans have or soon will endure.

Today was one of those days at work. I mean one of THOSE days.

Some phrases spoken during my shift:

“sicker than shit”

“sick as snot”

“circling the drain”

“what thah?”

“you can’t be serious”

“can’t I just go pee?!”

“did anyone eat today”

“I swear… I was gone 3 MINUTES”

“wait.. you were working today? I haven’t seen you all day”

“what time is it. No really”

“do we even have a blood pressure?”

“I think we’re missing a zero on that readout”

“did you say POINT-9 (0.9), NOT 9 (9.0)?”

Lives were lost. Lives were saved. But I didn’t have to worry about my freedom. I didn’t have to worry about my safety. I got to live the dream today. Work a job I love, with people I love to work with in a place I love.

All of this is possible because brave souls put their lives on the line every single day to protect my freedom.

Thanks to countless Veteran’s and their sacrifices I got to complain today about how tired I am. I got to complain about not having the time to pee. I got to listen to my belly grumble a tad bit longer today.

All because I was busy doing my job.

All of which is minuscule compared to the hardship, heartache and heart strain my fellow Veterans have endured.

I hope you thanked a Veteran today.

1500469491_22319463093_o

2015-07-01 13.31.37

2 thoughts on “Even a shift from hell isn’t all that bad…

  1. Thank you for your service, Sean! Both in the military and as a healthcare professional!

    As a current student and an aspiring nurse practitioner, I can’t wait to start a shift. Whether that day be deemed a “good” or “bad” shift, what could be more rewarding than devoting oneself to a worthy cause and saving lives?

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

