Blogging 101. Day Three: Say Hello to the Neighbors

meet ur neighbour

Blogging is a communal experience; if you didn’t want anyone to read your posts, you’d keep a private diary. Today, begin engaging with the blogging community, the first step in building an audience.

Today’s assignment: follow five new topics in the Reader and five new blogs.

Why spend time reading other blogs?

  • Publishing posts is only half of blogging — engaging with the community is the other.
  • Considering what other bloggers write will inspire you and sharpen your thoughts.

Part of what makes blogging such a rich experience are the relationships we develop with people from around the world. Those relationships only happen when we engage with one another — just look at The Commons. Plus, reaching out to other bloggers is the best way to have them return the favor.

The first step is finding the people you want to connect with. By following topics you care about in the Reader, you’ll discover a world of blogs. Some of them will become favorite reads, and some of their authors will become your fans.

I’m really bad at this. In the beginning, I was all about the readers and fellow bloggers. Now I’m choosy. My attention span has diminished greatly. Call me an old-bitty blogger I guess. After almost a decade of doing this, blog posts have to catch my attention. Nursing blog posts get recycled over and over again by the new and seasoned Nurse bloggers because we share the same joys and experience the same woes. It’s not a bad thing, not at all. It just makes it hard for me to follow and read other bloggers.

I know. I’m a bad blogger. Here I want you to read my stuff… yet I’m admitting to not reading your stuff. It’s probably why I don’t have many followers these days. It reminds me of the joke my friend Mike and I shared for a while. Anyone remember these guys?

I’m  going to try harder. I’ve started to dedicate a slot of time each AM to blogging. I’ll try and read more blogs while I’m at it. Time is not a luxury I have. But, then again I’m probably not the only one with a finite amount of time, yet you find the time to read my stuff. I’m going to make an effort to stop being such a bigot.

Image source: https://flic.kr/p/3mB7ed

 

*Update* – I posted this to my draft in the morning… and never got around to reading any blogs by the end of the day. I suck at this. Grr.

 

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

