Blogging 101 Challenge. Day One: Introduce Yourself to the World

Blogging Research Wordle

I’ve decided to try and re-charge my blog by undertaking a month-long blog challenge. This one is driven by WordPress.com called the Blogging 101 Challenge as part of the ‘Blogging University’ program.

Here is the first day’s topic:

Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post on your blog.

Why?

  • It gives new readers context. What are you about? Why should they read your blog?
  • It helps you focus your ideas about your blog and what you’d like to do with it.

The post can be short or long, a personal intro or a bloggy mission statement, a manifesto or a simple outline.

If you’ve already been blogging for a while, we still encourage you to do a version of this assignment: use it to revisit what you said when you first started blogging, to take stock of what you’ve accomplished and what more you’d like to do, or to lay out some goals for your next six months.

To help you get started, here are a few questions:

  • Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

  • What topics do you think you’ll write about?

  • Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

  • If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

Without further adieu:

Why are you blogging publicly, rather than keeping a personal journal?

I’ve always blogged publicly. But for those of you who don’t know, I blogged anonymously in the beginning. My pseudonym was ‘Strong One’. This was back when I started the blog named ‘To Be A Strong One‘. Whew… talk about memory lane. I first started blogging back them with the idea to do fitness or health related topics.. but it morphed slowly into all things Nursing somehow. I did that for about a year.. then continued to blog anonymously for another year before the ‘big reveal‘. And back then… I still didn’t know which direction my blogging would take. Geesh.

What topics do you think you’ll write about?

I’m random. I’ll always be random. If I’ve learned anything over the past 8+ years is that I can’t stay on topic. If anything I  stick to a handful of topics. Nursing will always show up, but most of my blogging about all-things Nursing shows up over at Scrub Magazine. The other mainstays are Weightlifting, CrossFit and anything about personal growth.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

Anyone and everyone. I still believe some of the greatest connections have been made through my blogging. My only caveat being that I don’t have the kind of time I used to have online. My life outside of the keyboard is quite busy.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

Consistency. I want to blog more, more often. I still have a lot to share, I still have a lot to say.

Blogging 101 Day One = done.

Image source: https://flic.kr/p/5jFua9

 

 

One thought on “Blogging 101 Challenge. Day One: Introduce Yourself to the World

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

