35 Kilograms in one Year

screenshotI started weightlifting as a full-time endeavor in December 2013. I increased my total by 35 kilos (that’s 77lbs)  over the course of this past year and I’m still growing as an athlete.

Yep, the first year was all about refining my technique and just learning how to use my body. It was also time for me to unlearn many bad habits. I’m feeling more and more comfortable with each lift each time I pick up the barbell. I hit a few snags along the way getting sidelined with a nasty hip injury for almost 3 months as well as battling through a couple illnesses and of course life gets in the way sometimes. But, all excuses aside. I’m still making improvements.

Here I am hitting a #205 Snatch.

My goal is to get as close to 100 kg (220lbs) as possible. I think with a little work, I could hit 100kg by the end of the year. Barring I can stay healthy and injury free.

Not too shabby for starting this journey late in life.

Now I have to focus more on my Clean & Jerk next.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

