Valentine’s Day… (eye roll)

Another corporate-sponsored event has come and gone. Another retail-driven money-making holiday has passed. And another Valentine’s Day where my beautiful wife and I did nothing to ‘celebrate’ its occurrence.

2015-02-14 14.04.26* * *

-snickering-

* * *

We don’t ‘celebrate’ Valentine’s Day. She’s my ‘valentine’ every day of the year. From a previous blog post a couple years ago, I wrote:

No need to spend the money on a holiday that supposedly is the national past time for celebrating love and happiness. Nope, my wife and I are far from traditionalist. In fact, the last time I checked, our entire relationship is based on going against what the ‘norm’ is or was, as well as ignoring any advice from those that ‘apparently’ know better.

I think I remember reading an article once about Will Smith and his wife Jada. It had something to do with his marriage, life, career.. I really can’t remember the specifics. What I do remember is him mentioning Valentine’s Day. How nobody can be ‘surprised’ on Valentine’s Day. The surprises are supposed to be throughout the entire year of the relationship, not just bottlenecking your efforts on a day that the retail world claims you should.

Here are some of the reason why I did not get my wife the roses, or the chocolates, or the jewelry for this year’s holiday:

  • I tell my wife I lover her everyday, 3 times a day at the very least. When I/we wake up, when I/we come home from our work/school day, and when we go to bed.
  • Every time I say the words, “I love you”, I actually mean it and don’t use it as a greeting, salutation or closing argument.
  • I concentrate on the small everyday things in her life, not just the major events. Do you know what your partner drinks when dining at the restaurant, could you order for them – and get it right.
  • There is not a day that goes by that I don’t hug my wife at least once.
  • I do my best to think of her every time I think of me.
  • I do my best to take care of her as much as she takes care of me.
  • I surprise her all the time – sometimes a gift, sometimes a completed chore, sometimes just that extra ‘what ever she needs’.
  • When I speak of her, the word beautiful is always in my sentence.
  • I married my best friend, so marriage is just the icing on the cake. Talking with my wife is still the foundation of our relationship.
  • The very best part of my day – is snuggling with her at night. I don’t ever pass up a ‘spooning’ moment.
  • My day is not complete until I see her smile and hear her laugh, so I plan my day around getting what I want.

I’m proud to be in a relationship where flowers, candy and trinkets don’t define our success or failure. While they surely do make for great memories, relationships don’t need anything that Valentine’s Day has to offer.

We upheld our tradition. We sat in the comfort of our home, snuggled on the couch and enjoyed each others’ company like we always do. A typical Saturday night for us. A perfect night.

I also found this blog post from Huff Post that I thought was worth mentioning: 25 Ways to Say “I Love You” Without Saying a Word. Ironically I talked about many of these suggestions.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend…

 

 

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

