Character

Our true character is revealed when things are not going our way. When we’re having a bad day. When the sky is falling around us. When the proverbial ‘bomb’ drops, how do you act? How do you react?

Do you fly off the handle? Do you panic? Do you find someone or something to blame? Do you feel sorry for yourself? Loath in self-pity and start to circle down the drain of negative self-talk?

Or do you find the light at the end of the dark tunnel? Do you evaluate just how bad things really are? Do you rise to the occasion? Do you own your emotions and figure out how to survive?

The last time I checked about 80+% of my life involves something not going my way. Whether a bad shift at work, an argument with my loved ones, something breaks that needs fixed, or maybe I sucked during my workout. The list is a mile long.

It’s how we deal with the crap, that dictates our happiness. I mean, life is not all sunshine and rainbows, but the last time I checked the majority of us are all pretty darn lucky. There is always someone else out there having a much worse day than you.

I don’t live with the defensive attitude of ‘others have it worse’ every day of my life. But I have learned to appreciate the small things in my life. We are not promised tomorrow.

Then again, I do follow the mantra ‘Suck it up buttercup’ too…

2 thoughts on “Character

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

