Honoring the memory of a fallen CrossFit family member. Coach T.

CrossFit FBO @crossfitfbo lost a member of its family after a long hard fought battle. Tucker beat all the odds and survived longer than anyone ever predicted. Those who were lucky enough to have known him KNOW he survived on the love his extended family had for him especially his owners Lumpy & Kris. While his heart was failing we all knew just how much ‘Heart’ he truly had. He brightened our second home with tons of love and laughter. He will be missed. RIP coach T. Thank you for blessing my world. #crossfitfbo

I remember the first time I saw Tucker. I thought to myself, “wholly sh&t that dog is huge. I hope he doesn’t get hungry.” Tucker stood above waist height. He towered over most other dogs, heck he towered over some human beings. But his physical size only told a fraction of his story.

Tucker was CrossFit FBO. CrossFit FBO was Tucker. Tucker might have resided at his owner’s home, but he lived at FBO. Tucker was a part of such a larger family. Every person that stepped foot through the gym doors learned just how engrained Tucker truly was. He left an indelible mark on every person’s heart both young and old.

The irony of it all? His biological organ that was failing him was unequivocally the ‘glue’ that stitched our small  community together. Tucker suffered from heart failure, but he truly was the ‘heart’ of our gym.

I’m still considered a ‘newbie’ at our gym. I’ve only been there a year and a half. What I know is that Tucker out-lived all his doctors predictions. He was maxed out on every prescription medication you can give a canine, and yet he was still plugging away. Barking, playing and sleeping just like every healthy dog should.

I truly believe in the depths of my soul that Tucker outlived all the odds because of the love in his heart, and the love everyone had for him. Tucker brought smiles to everyone that crossed his path, and before you knew it he had you wrapped around his paw.

Tucker slipped his way into your heart without you knowing it. I miss that gentle giant. I sometimes walk the floors of the gym thinking he’s sleeping in the office, waiting for someone to walk in. I often miss the greetings you would get when you opened up the locked front door, perched at the entrance waiting for the first visitor.

Tucker had a presence. I’ve never met a dog who had a presence, yet he had a presence. You knew when he was there. You missed him when he wasn’t.

Tomorrow our gym is celebrating his life the only way our CrossFit community knows how, by sweating it out:

The Tongue: teams of two (any gender combination)

10 rounds of:
10 front squats
10 burpees
5 rounds of:
20 push press
20 cal row
2 rounds of:
50 hang power cleans
50 front rack lunges

**work can be divided anyway you want between team members. 2 bars for male/female teams. Females 55/65/75. Males 75/95/115.

** there will be a 30 min cap on this Wod. Scale accordingly**

A Memorial WOD and Fundraiser, proceeds benefit the ANNA Shelter (where I believe Tucker was from)

The night before this even, and I find myself feeling pensive.  I’ve been thinking about the gentle giant, and here are just some of the memories I have of Tucker:

  • I remember the first time I saw him and his ‘tongue’… I couldn’t stop staring at first. I felt so bad for the big fella, but he made it work
  • no matter how big he was, he acted and played like a puppy
  • I still remember how he would run, jump and prance up and down the gym
  • I loved when he would run, and then try to stop on a dime and just slide on the gym floor. Always reminded me of the movie Bambi, when Bambi slid on the ice
  • I remember how he used to bury his head into your hip (or groin) wanting attention. His silent way of saying, “pet me”
  • He actually knocked me over several times when he would bury his head to gain attention
  • “Tucker hates DanceVibe” still makes me chuckle, even though we all know he didn’t hate anyone
  • While his bark was ‘worse than his bite’… his bark could make strangers shake in their shoes
  • I was always amazed at how he could sleep on the most oddly sharped objects.. and it never phased him
  • Boy did he love to run. Give him the chance and he’d let loose out the back alley and into the streets of the city. I heard he loved chasing rabbits
  • Let’s not forget his slobber. It was impressive. It was sort of FBO’s hazing ritual, you weren’t really considered a member of the community until you got slobbered

That damn dog will truly be missed. I know his owners miss him. There’s a void now. I know they say time heals all wounds, but this one may never completely heal. The only comfort I can offer to Kris and Lumpy is that they are not alone. We miss him too.

 

 

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

