I don’t get sick….. often? Thank you D.A.B.D.A. #nurselife

2014-09-27 08.53.41

Two days ago I started to get a crazy runny nose out of one nostril. I immediately thought, “uh-oh”. I had hoped it was just the change in weather and my allergies kicking up a bit, but the runny nose lasted throughout the night and into the next day.

<uh-oh>

Oscillococcinum

So I did what every other person does. I started my long journey through the phases of grief (Thank you Kubler-Ross)

  • DENIAL- I am NOT sick
  • ANGER – why the hell am I getting sick at THIS time of the year? Seriously?
  • BARGAINING – OK, OK, I’m sorry. Let’s take some OTC herbal ‘cold fighting’ remedies. I’ll be happy with just a little head cold – PLEASE don’t let this be the flu!!!
  • DEPRESSION- being sick sucks. Gravity-dependent breathing is not fun.
  • ACCEPTANCE- alright. Fine. I’m sick. I guess I’ll take some crappy medicine to get through my day.

Catching a cold sucks.Needless to say, my night of sleep was..uhh… just dandy. I dragged my achy, block-headed self out of bed…

Natural Common Cold Remedies 1 Natural Common Cold Remedies

Straight to the medicine cabinet of course. Taking whatever decongestant/antihistamine/ anti-pyretic I could find.

We’re taking a road trip this weekend, and I need to be ‘awake and alert’. So me and those OTC meds will become BFF’s. Funny how I get a head cold now? At this time if the year?

Now that I think about it. My wife is a school nurse.. and she’s been mentioning a lot of ‘cold’s lately. Hmmphm. Maybe my immune system is not as strong as I thought? As a side note I take a healthy dose of Vitamin C every day.

Guess it was just the luck of the draw. Lots of rest and fluids, well fluids at least. LOL

 

Image sources:

 

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

