62 days later

2 months and 1 day. That’s how much time had passed since I injured my hip Memorial Day weekend (technically now 2 months and 2 days).

3a22b1de5b0b9b5227d7ceb1555c16d5I still remember that night like it was yesterday.  I had just finished a long 7-day stretch at work. My training had lapsed due to lack of time and I was wanting to move some weight.

I had set a goal of hitting 200lbs on my Snatch, and the last time I tested my Snatch PR I hit #195, so I was itching for it.

That night I tried and failed miserably. I missed weights I should have, I was sloppy and I was frustrated.

I moved on to the Clean & Jerk, and failed even worse. It was not pretty.

I thought I’d finish the night on a good note and test my 1RM Back Squat. Weeks prior I had hit a milestone PR of 300lb Front Squat, so I was due to push the envelope on my back squat. I PR’d my backsquat… but my legs were feeling good, so I thought I’d up the ante.

I went down in the squat… on my ascent back up I felt a ripping sensation in my lower abdomen… and the rest was history.

When I injured my groin/abs/hip back in May I told myself it was going to take me 6 weeks or more to recover. I was right on the money. 6 weeks later I was picking up the barbell again. I started with no weight, and have slowly worked my way back up.

As for the 62 days. It took that many days before I could run pain-free. The days leading up to that 62nd day, I couldn’t run, jog or take a large stride without some pain or tightness in my groin & hip. It took almost the 6 week mark before I could climb stairs at a brisk pace without pain or tightness. Well, last weekend I attempted a very slow, very sloppy, very short run. And it didn’t hurt.

I’ll say that again. It didn’t hurt my hip!!!

This was my wake-up call. I have the ability to run, and I’ve neglected that ability for too long. This hip injury has me re-evaluating my relationship with running. While I doubt I’ll ever LIKE or LOVE running, I will start to run more.

While I hate to run, I hate not being able to run more.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

