So this one time… on Black Friday..

There was a vague, yet significant time in my life when I was not in health care (shocker -yes). Retail was my forte’.

*GASP*

Yes. I work for a very popular retail chain many moons ago. It begun as a means for the poor college student to pay the bills, but evolved into a full-fledged career. A career I none-the-less did not continue (long hours, crappy pay, and just wasn’t my ball o’ wax.. jus’ sayin’).

Black Friday, as you already have figured out, is the gravy-train of the retail world. It represents the culmination of an entire years worth of revenue (not an exaggeration). Back then stores actually closed their doors on the Thanksgiving holiday…

*GASP*

Crazy concept huh? Employees actually having time off to spend with their family?? Woah. They actually locked the doors and turned off the lights. I mean EVERYBODY was home (no night shift, nothing, nada).

Anyhoo…. I digress.

The store had to be opened of course bright and early on that fateful Friday morning. And I was the ‘new manager’ so it was my turn to unlock the entrance doors. No biggie. I got this.

I couldn’t quite understand why all my fellow managers and employees were giggling and snickering?

???

Needless to say I caught on quickly when I saw  the front foyer. The doors were only locked by a single counter-clockwise locking 2 inch bolt. So when I approached the doors.. they were bowing in. I literally had to push the doors forward to unlock the bolt. The customers were packed like sardines in the foyer… which pushed on the doors.

Needless to say I unlock the doors…. and BAM!!!

Doors swing open so hard they almost unhinge. I get slammed up against the wall.. pinned like velcro..

Employees on Black Friday / iFunny

All in the name of a sale.

This is why I never step foot into a store on Black Friday. Simple craziness. I have seen some of the ugliest performances of fellow human beings. Just to save a few dollars. People crashing and running others over with shopping carts, screaming, yelling, etc.

*sigh*

Sad, but true.

I’ll be perfectly happy with Cyber Monday.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

