What’s in a Name…

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? 

 

Ironically I was curious about the origin and meaning of my name when I was a youngin’. I think it might have had something to do with the fact that I was the only one who spelled ‘Sean’ S-E-A-N. Almost everyone else I came in contact with spelled it with an SH and some variation to the ending. I saw SHAWN, SHAUN, SHON, etc.

I also thought that it was pretty interesting that I shared a first name with both an actor and actress, who I thought were both pretty cool: Sean Connery and Sean Young. I come to find out later, there were a ton of other Hollywood a-listers that shared my first name (No Mr. Penn, I didn’t forget you).

Needless to say my name has both Hebrew and Irish origin. The literal meaning of Sean = “God is Gracious”.
I believe if my memory serves me correctly Sean was an iteration and loose translation of the English name Jean and John.

Regardless of the definition and origin I’ve learned to like my name, as opposed to the feelings I had for it during my first decade or so of life.

I can’t say I ever asked my parents the ‘Why’ question about my name.

It bears mentioning that my name is not really all that common still to this day, because I’ve had two separate occasions recently where my name was pronounced in such a horrific way that I’m still confused to this day how in the world their mind processed it so badly. Some how it’s been pronounced as “SEEN” or “CEE-ANN”??
Seriously?

Powered by Plinky

Via Plinky | “Name that….you!” by Sean

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name…

  1. Great post, Sean! It can be pretty annoying when somebody else mangles your name. My name ‘Alfreda’ is the feminine version of ‘Alfred.’ And it means ‘Elf Counsel.’ What does that even mean- apart from that Legolas and his kind would love me…

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

