WOD 130603

I officially joined a real and genuine-article CrossFit box last week. We made our big move about 3  weeks ago and I decided to take the leap of faith and join the classic garage-gym CrossFit box that I had always read about. While I’ve been doing CrossFit for just shy of two years, it’s all been self-taught and self-driven from the back of a globo-gym. So being in the presence of CrossFit coaches and surrendering the programming control to someone else is a big leap for me.

I’m hooked and I’m addicted.

More to follow later on the box and stuff. Here is today’s WOD, this is only day 4 back at it after being off for 4 weeks straight. It’s going to be a long battle back into shape.

Warm-up:

Front squat 3-3-3-3-3 (90 sec Rest)

*with a 3 second hold at the bottom. First set is 60% of 1RM, then increase after that. GET HEAVY AND STAY TIGHT AND ACTIVE AT THE BOTTOM!!!

The 3 second pause on the bottom changes the entire schema of this whole movement. Jus’ sayin’. Whew. I decided to stay on the reserved side with the weight amount:

155#

175#

185#

195#

205#

6 Rounds: (18 min max)

200m Run

7 reps Deadlift (275#, 155, or a weight you can get 10-12 reps straight)

14 reps Hand Release Push-ups

Via Am5,6,9,11 pm 3,4,5,6 | CrossFit FBO/212 Degrees of Fitness

I stayed reserved on the weight again. I picked 155#. My old 1RM Deadlift was 355#? and I based my weight tonight on 60% of that. Once again I kept it reserved. It actually was a good weight to pick/start with as I make the climb back into it. The DL didn’t hurt and I kept a good rhythm.

The hardest part of this WOD was of course the run. Geez. I really suck a running. I was sucking wind. My cardiorespiratory endurance is in the toilet right now. I gotta get better.

P.S. A pleasant moment for me during tonight’s WOD was the coaching staff complimenting me on my hip/ankle mobility. They wanna know my secret. 🙂

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

