CrossFit Games Open WOD 13.5. I survived the inFranity.

 

Via CrossFit – Workout 13.5 Movement Standards – YouTube

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 4 minutes of:
100 pound Thruster, 15 reps
15 Chest to bar Pull-ups

If 90 reps (3 rounds) are completed in under 4 minutes, time extends to 8 minutes.
If 180 reps (6 rounds) are completed in under 8 minutes, time extends to 12 minutes.
If 270 reps (9 rounds) are completed in under 12 minutes, time extends to 16 minutes.
Etc.

RESULT: 60 TOTAL REPS (2 complete rounds)

I must say, after reading this WOD, I knew it would be brutal. Then over the span of a couple days I read the CrossFit elite athletes posted scores, and knew I was in trouble.

This WOD is just Fran on steroids. Just like last year’s 12.5, this year was a suped-up version of the Benchmark WOD Fran.

For those who don’t know. Here’s Fran in all her glory:

95 pound Thruster

Pull-ups

21-15-9 reps scheme for time:

21 Thrusters then 21 Pull-ups

15 Thrusters, then 15 pull ups

9 Thrusters, then 9 pull ups

Just in case you thought Fran was easy in some way:

Ode to Fran

So, as you can see, Fran is brutal. So now take Fran and give her some steroids. Each time you complete 3 rounds within the 4 minute time cap your time extends an additional 4 minutes and that keeps going until you fail.

As you read, I didn’t even make it past the first 4 minutes. You technically need to have a sub 4-minute Fran time to even attempt that performance, and my last Fran time was 5:49. So I was simply shooting for 3 rounds. LOL

I knew my achilles heel would be the Thursters. No matter how I break them down, Thrusters destroy me. I don’t know if it’s my shoulders or my neck, or something else. But I have horrible strength and inefficient movement. I pooped out after the first 10 reps or so. Going into the second round of Thrusters after my first 15 chest-to-bar pull-ups I think I got through 5 reps before I hit a wall.

After that it was just pushing through the pain and lack of oxygen in my lungs.

I can proudly say that after I finished the 2nd round of 15 Thrusters I did my chest-to-bar pull-ups unbroken. I’m happy with 60. I consider that respectable. I now have a goal to shoot for.

I have to admit that I came prettttttty close to passing out. LOL.

The CrossFit Games Open 2013 has officially come to a close.

This whole experience during the Open has been mind-opening to say the least. I knew my ‘lungs’ were not up to par. I knew my met-cons have been in the toilet. So I knew my endurance would be lacking. Even with my endurance in the crapper, I still faired well in my humble opinion for a 40 year old part-time self-taught CrossFitter who has never been formally coached or set foot in a real CrossFit Box (gym).

I can only get better.

 

 

2 thoughts on “CrossFit Games Open WOD 13.5. I survived the inFranity.

  1. Good on you & kudos for the effort! You can be very proud of what you just did.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

