CrossFit Games – Open WOD 13.2

Workout 13.2

MEN – includes Masters Men up to 54 years old
Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 10 minutes of:
115 pound Shoulder to overhead, 5 reps
115 pound Deadlift, 10 reps
15 Box jumps, 24″ box

Via 2013 Open Workouts | CrossFit Games

RESULTS: 194 REPS (6 FULL ROUNDS + 5 S2O AND 9 DEADLIFTS)

 Once again, at face value the WOD doesn’t seem too bad (which is just the oh-so expected trickery of CrossFit WODs). This is just 10 minutes of suffering. Can you keep moving, how fast can you move, how much energy can you conserve. Period.

I knew going into the WOD that box jumps will drain ya, but I never in a million years expected the shoulder to overhead (S2O) to destroy me. On Thursday I trialed just one round of this WOD to see what my time would be like. I did the round in just over a minute. So I knew factoring in fatigue that I’d only squeak out 6 rounds or more. That was until I did my second round of S2O.

It’s not secret I have cervical spine issues,  that have resulted in some serious weaknesses with my shoulders. Well this WOD exposed the crap outta them. By the 3rd round I was struggling to get that bar over my head and locked out. Most peeps will use the push jerk or split jerk to help them heave it up there, but my legs, hips and hamstrings were slowly fading due to the box jumps combined with the deadlift.

I literally don’t know how I got that bar up there on those last 2 rounds.

I’m sort of irked that I couldn’t squeeze out a final rep on the deadlift, but ahh well. 

I ended up stepping down for each box jump, outta fear and energy conservation. I just couldn’t get past the fear of blowing out my achilles tendon. I also suck at the bounce box jump. I can’t seem to explode off the floor well.

My deadlifts were fine, other than my form and technique started to go in the crapper around round 5, and I was using my back too much. Thankfully I was able to adjust.

Over all I’m pleased with my performance. I had in my mind 6 rounds, and I got 6 full rounds and then some. I never stopped. I kept moving. I think I had a 2 second pause during the last set of S2O, and I took a 2 second pause during my last set of box jumps, but I kept moving. I even resorted to stepping up on the box, instead of staring at the box trying to catch my breath. I just kept moving.

Whew.. what a burner.

Not bad for an old man.

😉

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

