CrossFit Games Open WOD 13.1 kicked my arse

Well I did it. It wasn’t pretty, and I didn’t do nearly as well as I thought I would. But, I did it.

It was pretty cool to actually plan out the set up for videotaping the WOD. Once again, I don’t workout at a CrossFit box. Never have. I have never been trained by a CrossFit trainer. Everything I’ve done up to this point has been self-learned.

I’ve watched all the videos. I’ve watched all the workouts from the sidelines. It was a VERY different feeling knowing that someone else would be watching me do the WOD.

Weird, I know.

Not as if I workout in a cave where there is no one around when I normally workout?? LOL

My training partner helped out with the set up. There were of course rules and guidelines to video taping, so we tried our best to stay within the guidelines.


CrossFit Games Open 13.1

I completed CrossFit Games Open 13.1.
Mar 9, 2013, 1:47 PM
For Repetitions: 116
CrossFit Games Open 13.1

Proceed through the sequence below completing as many reps as possible in 17 minutes of:
40 Burpees
75 pound Snatch, 30 reps
30 Burpees
135 pound Snatch, 30 reps ( I completed 16 of them)
20 Burpees
165 pound Snatch, 30 reps
10 burpees
210 pound Snatch, as many reps as possible

Post reps completed to comments and/or register and submit your results as part of the CrossFit Games Open.

Julie Foucher completes 195 reps on Workout 13.1

Yep. The burpees destroyed me. My lack of conditioning showed. I haven’t done consistent met-con WODs in months due to school, my schedule, time and just plain ole interest. My weaknesses were definitely exposed. Just after the 40 burpees I was already gassed.

The burpees are what set the tone for the whole WOD regardless of the weight being thrown around with the Snatch movement. Which is why my ‘form’ and ‘technique’ went out the door during both rounds of the snatch. I was doing some funky deadlift-like shrug with the light 75lb weight, and then I just lost all composure with the 135lb.

All in all still had fun. (yes we are a sick bunch)

I won’t do the WOD a second time to see if I could improve my time. I can’t say there was anything in my strategy I would change. It was purely a lack of stamina and cardio-respiratory endurance. I paced the burpees to the best of my abilities.

I got through 16 reps of  the 135lb snatches. With 10 seconds left after the last lift, I just collapsed.

Whew..

I can’t wait to see what is released for 13.2 this Wednesday. LOL

 

Oh, and just to keep things in perspective. There are human beings out there who are doing 200+ total reps. IN-SANE.

One thought on “CrossFit Games Open WOD 13.1 kicked my arse

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

