Creating My CrossFit | Again Faster

CrossFit is many things. It’s amazing, it’s upsetting, it’s frustrating, and it’s uplifting. Every day is different, which is probably what keeps us coming back for more. One day we are beating ourselves up for not getting a PR, then the next, we can’t stop smiling from our new Fran time. CrossFit is a lot of things, but mostly it’s an emotional roller coaster.

So what do we do when this emotional roller coaster becomes more negative than positive? How do we create the CrossFit that intrigued us at the start? A CrossFit that proved to us exercise can be enjoyable? A CrossFit that gave us the ability to be the person we wanted to be?

CrossFit is not always uplifting and amazing. It’s f*cking frustrating. It’s sometimes like being in an amusement park for 8 hours straight: the excitement is lost, the adrenaline is used up, going through the motions takes over. The overwhelming excitement for being on this thrill ride roller coaster has become dull. Maybe that’s because we’re sore and achy. Maybe because we feel we’re not improving. Or maybe because we no longer feel that drive that kept us coming back in the beginning. No matter why we feel this way, we have to find out how to change it.

I started CrossFit because I wanted to do it. Not for anyone else, not to prove anything else to anyone, and not to make anyone else happy. I did it because CrossFit made me feel like a better person. It gave me a reason for living. And it gave me happiness. Every workout I did, I worked my butt off to become stronger than the day before, and went on smiling afterwards.

But those feelings of doing CrossFit for myself have dissipated. They’ve been lost in the feeling of needing to make others happy, instead of making myself happy. When I started CrossFit, my CrossFit included making amazing friends at the gym. MY CrossFit included improving my strength. And my CrossFit always started with dancing before every.single.workout. My CrossFit was lighthearted and helped shape the person I am today.

But as time has gone on, my CrossFit has become something I no longer control. It may sound like a sob story, but it’s not. It’s a story of finding my love for CrossFit again. Everyone’s story of CrossFit and reason for doing it is different, but we’ve all seemed to figure out what kind of CrossFit we like doing. Or like me, are in that process. My new goal is to create a CrossFit that makes me beam with excitement and happiness. A CrossFit that I wake up thinking about. A CrossFit that inspires me to be better than yesterday.

So as CrossFit grows and becomes bigger and greater than we ever thought possible, remember one thing: It is still your CrossFit. It is your workout. And it is your life. Don’t ever lose that feeling of utter happiness and joy that CrossFit has given you. Capture it. And create your own special CrossFit.

 

Juli Bauer is the sole author of the blog PaleOMG. She’s currently at work on her first cookbook.

Via Again Faster – Equipment for CrossFit – Creating My CrossFit

 

This guest post article posted by Julie B, over at Again Faster. I couldn’t agree more with her sentiments. MY CrossFit has traveled the same path… and I need to find a way to rediscover it. 

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

