Begin CPR…

Then you see this:

Serious Ink of the Day

Serious Ink of the Day: 81-year-old Joy Tomkins of Downham Market, Norfolk, wanted to make sure no one tried to bring her back from the dead, so she did what any normal grandmother of six would do: She had “Do Not Resuscitate” tattooed on her chest.

“I do not want to be half dead, I want to be fully dead,” said Tomkins, who suffers from arthritis, Reynard’s disease, and diabetes. “I’m afraid the medical profession will, with the best of intentions, keep me alive when I don’t want to be alive.”

Despite her wishes, a General Medical Council spokesman said Tomkins’ ink will likely be ignored. “Mrs Tomkins’ tattoo would not be enough information by itself for a doctor to make this decision on in an emergency.”

The tattoo, of course, is just a backup: Tomkins has a living will that says the exact same thing.

Serious Ink of the Day |The Daily What

Of course this is all speculation, but what if you went to start CPR. You exposed the sternum to find that tattoo. What exactly would you do? Yeah, I know. It’s not a binding legal document. But, how would you feel if you were proceeding with life-saving measures to discover that when this patient was of ‘sound mind’ she did not want to be resuscitated?

Of course I’m over-simplifying things!

But it sure does make you pause doesn’t it?

4 thoughts on “Begin CPR…

  1. If I found them down on the street, I would follow their instructions. If they took the time to get the tattoo placed there, prominently, then I think they would want people to follow the directions. Of course, legally, I would find out if they had a living will somewhere. I tell my patients to keep a copy in their glove compartment as well as having a paper saying their wishes in their wallet.

    1. Sad, but true. I couldn’t agree more. And a great suggestion with the living will in the glove compartment!

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

