Why I knew I was a nurse

This is a blog post from over at Scrubs Magazine, I just had to share it here.

The day you start nursing school your life changed permanently. There is the life ‘before nursing’ and then life as a nurse. Two very different worlds.

Here are some of the ways I knew my life had changed when I became a nurse.

1. I stared using a different language

‘Rationale’ and ‘as evidenced by’ became common terminology. Really.. (only nurses will understand this one) don’t ask. Heh heh

2. Acronyms became my best friend

Patient history of COPD, CAD, DM, BKA, CVA with some JVD and new onset CHF noted. What??? Can I get vowel Alex??

3. I somehow started caring about the type pens I used to write with

A ‘fat’ pen with some cushion was like gold when you have to write narrative notes that are pages long for EACH patient you care for during a shift.

4. My bladder grew 3 sizes larger

For some strange reason I could go 12 + hours without having to use the bathroom? Is that normal?

5. Coffee was a mainstay in my diet- and still is.

Without it I don’t think I could blink properly some days

6. My sense of smell not only got sharper, but it got duller

I could identify a disorder or disease just by smelling the ‘aftermath’ or the preemptive strike. I also found that most smells stop ‘bothering me’. How weird is that?

7. Nationally celebrated holidays were simple a date on a calendar

I vaguely remember a time when I didn’t have to work, or worry about covering a shift during a holiday. But, then again, the hospital doesn’t close for the holidays.

8. I began to forget what day of the week it was.

A traditional calendar was useless. ‘What day of the week is it?” Uhm, when did I work last – let me check my work schedule. That whole ‘week day’ and ‘weekend’ thing.. Yeah it no longer applies.

9. I couldn’t call off work anymore.

Not without feeling amazingly guilty! You call off and then remember what it is like to work short handed.

10. I stopped answering my phone

Caller ID was an amazing rescue tool. Who’s calling? Is it work?

And, after it’s all said and done. I wouldn’t have done it any different. I love being a nurse.

Scrubs Mag | 10 humorous reasons I knew I was a nurse

2 thoughts on “Why I knew I was a nurse

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

