On Proper Nurse Staffing Ratios

Since the debacle with the nursing strike in Minnesota, the interwebs have been a-buzz about proper and safe nurse-to-patient ratios.

Is a strike really the answer?

What better way to get the facility’s attention?

Is striking really ‘safe’ for the patients?

Are nurses abandoning their duties by striking?

The list goes on. Etcetera, etcetera.

I thought I’d shed some humor on the subject courtesy of a fellow nurse-blogger in my nursosphere.

SeeJaneNurse (follow her on Twitter: here) recently posted a blog titled ‘No Hitting’. In the blog post she talked about her day and how busy it was with staffing.

Ever wanted a quantifiable way of describing our thoughts on staffing ratios? Well here you go:

One shift last week we were all at max ratio 6:1, which in my opinion is equivalent to a gangbang in the world of nursing

No Hitting « See Jane Nurse

 

This just made me burst into my ‘cackle – laugh’. You hit the nail on the head.

 

Thanks Jane.

5 thoughts on “On Proper Nurse Staffing Ratios

  1. Do you know any nurses who are against staff ratios that are not tight with management? I dont'. It just makes sense that you can only properly care for x amount of people. That was another reason I left my old job. Unsafe staffing. If you took all the nurses who have left nursing and employed them as nurses, we would not have a nursing shortage. I need to go take an ativan now.

  2. It is a pleasure to imagine you “cackle-laugh” I am glad you like the analogy! 🙂

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

