I DID IT!

In just 7 short days I will be walking across the stage to accept my Baccalaureate degree in Nursing from the Pennsylvania State University.

Whew…

What a ride. I must tell ya. It got a lil’ ‘hairy’ there at the end with the amount of work I had to complete in such a short period of time. I had projects piling up left and right, due dates overlapping and assignments that would take 2-3 days to complete – on top of the ‘semester projects’ that were due. It was a tad crazy for a while there. I thought I was going blind from all the darn reading, writing and researching I was doing!

But I did it. I got through it. I can now put the auspicious BSN after my name now. I can’t tell you how awesome it feels to be done, to say I did it. To think I posted this a year ago: (I’m taking the BSN plunge)

There is no turning back now. It’s official. I’m a student (again). I’m a student for the 4th time. Luckily I will only need a total of 3 semesters. 3 semesters later I will attain my Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing.

Wow. I still feel like it’s not real.

Maybe I’m making this more than it really is, but this degree was an important one for me. I learned a lot about me and my future as a nurse. I learned more about the nurse I am, the nurse I can be, and the nurse I want to be.

  • I learned that my future as a nurse is full of possibilities.
  • I learned that a job is not the same as a career.
  • I learned that I truly do enjoy taking care of patients and their families.
  • I learned I’m good at taking care of those patients at the bedside.
  • I learned that I am at ‘home’ in the world of critical care – nowhere else.

Most of all, I learned that my high aspirations of wanting to be a Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) were based on false pretenses and misguided following. Being a CRNA is something that takes a great deal of education, training and skill. Most individuals in the critical care world ‘transition’ or follow along the ‘anesthesia’ path. It is not for me. Sure, the money would be GREAT – but I’ve learned the hard way that taking a job for the money is the quickest way to an unhappy life. Being miserable with a pocket full of money is not a way to lead ones life in my opinion.

My interests lie elsewhere, and I’m currently taking steps to get there. I’m nervous and excited at the same time! I’m anxious and full of energy at what my future as a nurse holds for me.

13 thoughts on “I DID IT!

  1. Sean,Congratulations!!!! I am very happy to hear of your most recent accomplishment. I say, keep reaching for the far out skies and you will be sure to land amongst stars.Sincerely your nurse colleague,Rosita

  2. Congrats Bud! Strong work!I'm still full sails for the wind towards CRNA school, but we'll see if I still want it badly enough come time.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

