Does A Test Score Define You?

sleeping_in_classI have asked myself this question throughout my many years as a student (MANY YEARS). Does your test score fairly reflect your performance as a professional?

The following article sparked my interest – Do Test Scores Make the Doctor? – Well Blog – NYTimes.com

Whether it’s being a Physician, Nurse, Respiratory Therapist, Occupational Therapist, etc. Does your exam score quantify you and your skills in your chosen profession? Does a poor test score equate to poor skills or worse yet a failure? And the opposite, does high performance test scores reflect superb skills and being a success at your job??

I for one think it’s hog-wash. It’s a balance. We as professionals need all of the above to do our job well, and do deliver the best care possible. I agree, knowledge is the key, but if you cannot apply the knowledge, or use the knowledge in everyday functioning what’s the point?

I think it’s the age-old debate between ‘book’ smarts and ‘common’ sense (sometimes called street smarts).

You need to be equal parts ‘nerd’ and versatile ‘Joe’. In the ‘thick’ of it, you need to draw on your education and knowledge as well as perform and utilize critical thinking skills ‘in the moment’ to properly and effectively do your job.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one!

4 thoughts on “Does A Test Score Define You?

  1. I think about this debate all of the time. I would have a really hard time getting accepted to nursing school now, based on my 2.8 GPA years ago. You almost need an A average to get into nursing school. I think we lose out on a helluva lot of potentially good nurses who might not have scored that high.Funny thing with my graduating class from North Hennepin Community College in Brooklyn Park, Minnesota: We had two of our Cum Laude grads who did not pass their nursing boards the first time they took them. I've been a nurse for almost 20 years. I think there are a lot of intangibles for who will be a good nurse, irregardless of SAT's or GPA. It's like in football, does somebody's verticle leap or 40 yard dash time really mean they will have a great career in pro football?

  2. I have actually never heard that before!? Very odd. I would agree with 2/3. The one about making the most money strikes me as the odd one out. Very interesting. Thanks for sharing!

  3. There is a saying you've probably heard:The top third of the class make the best researchersThe middle third of the class make the best cliniciansThe bottom third of the class makes the most moneyI've found this to be generally true.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

