A Nurse and the H1N1 Flu Panic

 

Yep. This swine flu/ pig flu/ H1N1 flu / (insert scary name) is really starting to gnaw at my nerves. Fact vs. Fiction can really cause quite a stir in the public. There is a reason why there is such a public ‘concern’ about this new virus. We caused it.

Yes, you read that right.

WE as in the public. As in society. As in all of us. We caused this. We failed at properly educating the public. Educating those on the who/what/when/where/why’s of this new virus.

Yes, we (I use this term loosely) are making strides to better inform everyone NOW – after the fact. We are NOW trying to calm everyone down by delivering the proper message. Making a valiant attempt at extinguishing the ‘fire’ we created.

I thought you might like to read my latest blog post over at Scrubs Magazine. Follow the link for the rest: A Nurse and the H1N1 Flu Panic

17 thoughts on “A Nurse and the H1N1 Flu Panic

  1. That is the unfortunate but expected nature of any 'flu'. It's unpredictable in how each person is affected. Tough times with tough decisions.

  2. My children had all the symptoms on that list…and I took them in. One had an ear infection and they tested negative for the flu. I read that a negative result in the office swab is 50% accurate. This means, I think we actually had some sort of flu. I got the regular flu shot and am the only one in the house not to get it…the rest (7 others including dad) were all ill. Some were sick for two weeks with fever, cough, malaise. See how confusing it can be for parents? When a 2 year old has a 104 degree fever, it's time to take them somewhere to be evaluated just in case. I don't think parents are trying to be stupid, it's just hard to know. Even the doc didn't know and ran the test. I'm also pregnant, and we know a woman who died of H1N1 (it was on the news in our area also). Her newborn survived…so you can see how we can easily be scared. Mixed messages really confuse, and that symptoms can mimic each other also is confusing. I mean, is there a virus out there that gives the same exact symptoms even the getting better for a day and then having it hit full force again?

  3. I'm choosing not to. I did get my seasonal flu shot – I just don't feel comfortable with the h1n1 vaccine. too many unknowns. still too new. not properly tested in my humble opinion.

  4. That is the unfortunate but expected nature of any 'flu'. It's unpredictable in how each person is affected. Tough times with tough decisions.

  5. My children had all the symptoms on that list…and I took them in. One had an ear infection and they tested negative for the flu. I read that a negative result in the office swab is 50% accurate. This means, I think we actually had some sort of flu. I got the regular flu shot and am the only one in the house not to get it…the rest (7 others including dad) were all ill. Some were sick for two weeks with fever, cough, malaise. See how confusing it can be for parents? When a 2 year old has a 104 degree fever, it's time to take them somewhere to be evaluated just in case. I don't think parents are trying to be stupid, it's just hard to know. Even the doc didn't know and ran the test. I'm also pregnant, and we know a woman who died of H1N1 (it was on the news in our area also). Her newborn survived…so you can see how we can easily be scared. Mixed messages really confuse, and that symptoms can mimic each other also is confusing. I mean, is there a virus out there that gives the same exact symptoms even the getting better for a day and then having it hit full force again?

  6. I'm choosing not to. I did get my seasonal flu shot – I just don't feel comfortable with the h1n1 vaccine. too many unknowns. still too new. not properly tested in my humble opinion.

  7. Caused swine flu because of pill-ing up our children when they did not have an infection because parents will not leave a Dr.'s office without a script as to validate why they panic-ed and drug their kid to the doctor because they did not have enough sense to know that the child just had a common bug and created a huge number of immune system compromised kids. yeah, we caused it. Protect yourself and your children by learning swine flu symptoms

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

