Thoughts From The Night Shift

 

So I survived my first ‘rotation’ on the night shift. It wasn’t bad. Not bad at all. At least I think it was. I was really expecting to be drained. To be utterly exhausted like the last time I did nights (at my job that was 70 miles away).

It’s amazing how different things are when you get home at a decent time, and actually make it to bed on time.. and get the proper amount of sleep!

Go figure.


I will admit.. I still watched the clock. Even though I tolerated being up.. I sure didn’t LIKE it in any way. I still got that overwhelming ‘zombie-like’ feeling about half-way through my shift. Not sure if that will ever change.


Your mind plays some really crazy tricks on you when you’re tired.


I am still amazed at how some people can do this as their full time job.

12 thoughts on “Thoughts From The Night Shift

  1. Diana, I have spent a good chunk of my career on nights, too. Sometimes you do what you have to do. I remember working 6 night shifts a week doing high-tech homecare for vented kids when I lived in Chicago years ago. The good news was, I was able to save enough money that we were able to buy our house in Minneapolis and tidy up some bills. I don't know if you are married or not, but, to be blunt, I did reach a point in my life where being able to sleep with my wife on a more regular basis meant more than any $$. I found straght nights worked the best for me-that day/night stuff just pounded me too much.

  2. Diana, I have spent a good chunk of my career on nights, too. Sometimes you do what you have to do. I remember working 6 night shifts a week doing high-tech homecare for vented kids when I lived in Chicago years ago. The good news was, I was able to save enough money that we were able to buy our house in Minneapolis and tidy up some bills. I don't know if you are married or not, but, to be blunt, I did reach a point in my life where being able to sleep with my wife on a more regular basis meant more than any $$. I found straght nights worked the best for me-that day/night stuff just pounded me too much.

  3. I have worked nights for 10 years, and I have passed up three day shift positions. On nights, I can see my kids and have the extra $$ to cover the bills. I understand that I must work nights for now and therefore I have moved on and coped. Night shift survival is a mind set more than an ability.

  4. I just finished 2 weeks on nights. I definitely hit a “witching hour” at 1am and 4am, pretty much on the button. Also had a hard to eating after midnight, so I would go home, go to bed, and wake up with a ridiculous protein craving having not eaten for 15 hours. But it CAN be done, right? Go, us! :::high five:::

  5. The key is getting enough sleep before going in, and tricking your body into thinking that it's morning when you get up to go to work. Hard to do when you first start out working nights!

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

