A New Day

clip_image001

Yesterday I received some disheartening news. Positive self-talk only gets you so far. You actually have to believe what you’re telling yourself in order for it to work.

I have a very lofty goal ahead of me. A goal I have successfully dodged for the better part of 4 yrs. A goal which I know will take a lot of effort, time and of course money. It will have drastic effects on me physically, mentally and emotionally as well as directly and indirectly affecting my wife and family. A goal which I am well aware of is impossible for some, attainable for others, and down right difficult to achieve. It’s a goal that will be one of the more, if not the most, challenging things I will do in my life.

What is this goal? Well I wrote it down like all goals should:

clip_image002

Whew…

OK. I had to catch my breath there. That’s the first time I’ve made that public. Officially. OK. First time I’ve made it public to my Social Media family.

My family, friends, and co-workers of course have known for quite some time, but man! Putting this out there makes it so much more real.

I have tossed around anesthetist school for a long time. I first had an interest in nursing school, and during my short time as a nurse my interest has waxed and waned, until these past 2 years.

I consciously made the effort and made the first steps to complete this goal last year. As you may already have read, or remember, I have a Bachelor’s degree. I have a Bachelor’s in Exercise and Sport Science. Unfortunately for most Nurse Anesthesia programs, having anything other than a BSN simply doesn’t qualify.

Yes, they will tell you that there are ‘other’ options, and you can ‘get started’ with entrance into their School’s Master’s program, but all it really boils down to is you are still going to need to have the upper level Bachelor’s of Nursing classes before you can enter or even qualify for entrance.

And some programs won’t even continue their conversation with you once they learn you don’t have a BSN.

I have learned this the hard way.

A year ago I took my GRE‘s in the hopes that with my current degree I could gain entrance into the only school that WOULD talk with me. Those hopes were of course shot down.

So this past spring I made the decision to shoot for my BSN. I am currently 2 semesters away from that golden crown.

Prior planning is paramount in paving your road to higher education. I knew that even though my graduation date was not till May of 2010 I needed to start planning my attack for Anesthesia school. Luck would have it that one of the programs I was interested in had an application deadline of August 1st 2009. Uhh…. Yeah. That would be a week ago.

I discovered this little piece of info roughly the 3rd week in July! But… thanks to the powers that be and some awesome references and some good ole’ fashion leg-work I was able to get my full application with all the trimmings submitted on time. In fact I had it done almost a week ahead of schedule.

Well it all came crashing down yesterday when I received a phone call from the school. I originally got super-excited when I listened to the voice message. I thought ‘wholly cow! They are already calling me! It’s gotta be good news!’

Of course it wasn’t the good news I was expecting. The short version is that I did not meet their qualifications, and basically I was going to have to wait till the following year to apply for entrance. The details are mind numbing so I’ll spare you.

So I was devastated. I know, I know, it’s not the end of the world. But for me, I had built this up as the end-all-be-all. I had already pictured myself at the school. Already making my plans for starting classes, etc.

So I spent today reviewing, researching, and talking with other programs of interest to be sure all my ducks were in a row, all my I’s were dotted, and all my T’s were crossed.

I must admit, putting my goal out there for all to read makes it so much more real now. Yep, I’m a tad nervous now that you know. But, I’m also glad.

Don’t worry, I’ll be chronicling my journey towards my high hopes and barely reachable goal.

Yesterday I got knocked down. Today I got back up and took the bull by the horns. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.

26 thoughts on “A New Day

  1. I guess I didn't make it clear. I do not have a BSN (yet). I have a Bachelor's Degree- just not in nursing. I will complete my BSN in May 2010.Thanks for the information!

  2. I guess I didn't make it clear. I do not have a BSN (yet). I have a Bachelor's Degree- just not in nursing. I will complete my BSN in May 2010.Thanks for the information!

  3. I'm sorry but I don't get what type of qualifications you don't seem to have? Was it GPA or RN experience in critical care? I'm interested in CRNA also and I researched the schools. All of them (I didn't find one that didn't have this requirement) require a BSN and a minimum of one year critical care experience as an RN. Just go and do. They have their reasons why they have this requirement. CRNA is serious business. There are always the Anesthesiologist Assistant masters degrees but then you are limited geographically where you may work. Not all states allow AA to work in their state. CRNAs are accepted in all 50 states.

  4. Yes!!! Keep your head up and keep going! I’ll have my BSN in May of 2010, too!

    And then onto a BSN-to-PhD program (if they’ll have me!)

    How great you are doing this!!!!!!!! And you WILL do it. This will just give an extra year to get everything together and be ready for when you DO start!

    (and if I don’t get accepted to the PhD program, you can give me this exact pep talk! Except I don’t apply until January or so : ) )

    1. @ Kim I’m already picking up and jumping at the next opportunity! Thanks! We’ll both be celebrating next spring!

  5. Yes!!! Keep your head up and keep going! I’ll have my BSN in May of 2010, too!

    And then onto a BSN-to-PhD program (if they’ll have me!)

    How great you are doing this!!!!!!!! And you WILL do it. This will just give an extra year to get everything together and be ready for when you DO start!

    (and if I don’t get accepted to the PhD program, you can give me this exact pep talk! Except I don’t apply until January or so : ) )

    1. @ Kim I’m already picking up and jumping at the next opportunity! Thanks! We’ll both be celebrating next spring!

  6. They don’t have BS to BSN bridge programs?

    My brother is considering becoming a CRNA, but I’m trying to tell him he might want to consider one of the many other advanced practice nurse degrees. Of course, I don’t know if they practice in your area, but have you considered becoming some kind of acute care NP or APN? Of course, they might still want a BSN, so that might not be helpful advice. :\

    Good luck, though, and congratulations for at least being able to know what is required of you and what’s left to do.

    1. @man-nurse They do have bridge programs, but in the end you still follow the same route. BSN is needed/required. I’m on the right track, it’s just semantics for that particular school. I have considered the APN route, but anesthesia is where my interests lie. And yep, they would still require a BSN. 🙂 Thanks!

  7. They don’t have BS to BSN bridge programs?

    My brother is considering becoming a CRNA, but I’m trying to tell him he might want to consider one of the many other advanced practice nurse degrees. Of course, I don’t know if they practice in your area, but have you considered becoming some kind of acute care NP or APN? Of course, they might still want a BSN, so that might not be helpful advice. :

    Good luck, though, and congratulations for at least being able to know what is required of you and what’s left to do.

    1. @man-nurse They do have bridge programs, but in the end you still follow the same route. BSN is needed/required. I’m on the right track, it’s just semantics for that particular school. I have considered the APN route, but anesthesia is where my interests lie. And yep, they would still require a BSN. 🙂 Thanks!

  8. Wow. What more could they want?!?!?! I’m surprised they didn’t scoop you up and get you in ASAP. SO sorry Sean. How discouraging. But press on you will because you CAN! I’m still totally rooting for ya!

    1. @ runningwildly Heh heh.. it really is semantics. But I’m using it as motivation to keep pressing forward. Thanks momma!

  9. Wow. What more could they want?!?!?! I’m surprised they didn’t scoop you up and get you in ASAP. SO sorry Sean. How discouraging. But press on you will because you CAN! I’m still totally rooting for ya!

    1. @ runningwildly Heh heh.. it really is semantics. But I’m using it as motivation to keep pressing forward. Thanks momma!

  10. Hang in there, Sean! Vacation is soon and that will clear your head a little. Everything happens for a reason!!! You can do it!

    1. @ Caroline OHHHH.. believe you-me. I’m in desperate need of that vacation. 4 more days. Thanks for your kind words.

  11. Hang in there, Sean! Vacation is soon and that will clear your head a little. Everything happens for a reason!!! You can do it!

    1. @ Caroline OHHHH.. believe you-me. I’m in desperate need of that vacation. 4 more days. Thanks for your kind words.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

