Nurse Jackie vs. HawthoRNe: The Battle of the TV Show Nurses Continues

It seems that nurses and nursing are a hot topic finally in the world of television. Apparently there was enough noise made to the powers that be and now for some strange reason people making television shows are interested in hearing the story told from the Nurse’s perspective. (It’s about DAMN time)

image

Nurse Jackie spawned an interesting debate amongst my fellow nurse-bloggers out there. It is a Showtime television show portraying Jackie, a nurse in the ED (I think?), played by Edie Falco. It had the makings of all the right stuff.

A strong, level-headed, motivated patient advocate that didn’t take no for an answer. She played all the right cards by standing up for her patients, high-octane, low-drag, no frills ER nurse that we all can relate to. Right up to the point where she was snorting some sort of prescription drug and being felt up by her co-workers?At wits end

Kim over at Emergiblog spawned quite the conversation about this new show. I whole heartedly agree with the concept of the show, but cannot get my mind around why they have to have this character be a drug addict of some sort while being a part of the warped-like mindset of the public’s depiction of nurses being some sort of abused sex object.

Now my opinions are of course solely based on the video clips and previews I’ve seen, and yes I’m well aware that it IS just a TV show, not the real thing. The more talk, the more drama, the more the ratings go up. Blah, Blah, Blah.

I still think they could have done a bang-up job without the drug addiction and sexual antics.

Enter HawthoRNe.

image

This is a TNT production starring Jada Pinkett Smith as the (CNO)Chief Nursing Officer at a hospital manning the everyday nursing front lines. It stretches the truth a tad bit having her portray a CNO that seems to be getting her hands quite dirty on the front lines of the patient bed side (the last time I checked, most of the CNO’s I’ve met and worked for/with don’t even wear scrubs anymore).

Other than the CNO ‘stretch’, it seems to have the ‘goods’.

She’s a nurse who cares passionately about her job, her fellow nurses, and of course her patients. She stands up and fights the good fight wherever and whenever needed against whom ever.

The boon to this show?

http://i.cdn.turner.com/v5cache/TNT/flash/tnt_player.swf

http://www.tnt.tv/dramavision/?oid=47783&eref=sharethisUrl

There is a 3-5 second snippet (on the video) about a male nurse working along the front lines! (He gets mistaken for a doctor at a patient’s bedside) Raised Eyebrow

It seems that HawthoRNe has one up on Nurse Jackie at first blush simply because there is no illegal or negative activity. I once again am basing my judgment on just the video clips I’ve seen.

I also do not subscribe to Showtime, so I don’t  foresee me watching Nurse Jackie anytime soon.

I however will be setting aside time to take a better look at HawthoRNe.

I’d love to hear your thoughts Nurses.

37 thoughts on “Nurse Jackie vs. HawthoRNe: The Battle of the TV Show Nurses Continues

  1. The new season has just begun, but after scoring records ratings for their second season premieres, Showtime has renewed Nurse Jackie and United States of Tara for a third season :)!

  2. Angelic Florence Nightengale – I think someone has to read the live of Old Flo. I wouldn't exactly characterize her as “angelic”. I started nursing in 1963 and Vol Red Cross work 1959 at age 13. I have received letters from JFK and other impt people at a very early age. Working in very large to very small hospitals I learned a lot about what goes on and there are both good and bad in all. It would be my dream to be a part of any of these programs with all the stories I could pass on. The truth is stranger then fiction. Sincerely , PatB. RN

  3. i watched chicken soup (nurse jackie) and had several thoughts…apparently the media related nursing organizations were pissed at how nurses were portrayed. In my 10 years of experience…MD residents were told in a meeting to NOT fraternize with the nursing staff because some residents were screwing nurses… a doctor got fired recently because he and a nurse at my hosp. were having sex and got caught (different hospital than the fraternization speech hosp.) My first 2 years of nursing at the hospital- 2 nurses were busted for drug abuse and stealing narcs from the hospital…media related nursing organizations bitch at how showtime is presenting them and ER and Grey’s and yet dont do enough to promote nursing as a discipline over the last 20 years. It’s still treated as a gender- look at your smock ordering catalogs..hm- lets see- floral prints….pastel…girly….yeah- that does wonders for the nursing profession as a discipline instead of a gender… great. These organizations make so much noise about HOW nurses are portrayed and yet dont bother to be proactive on their own right for showing nurses.

    side note- the preceptor that Nurse Jackie is dealing with and how she and the English doctor treat her in chicken soup…hmmm- it’s a reality- nurses sometimes feel like they are above teaching and training a nursing student- I LOVE nursing students. You have an opportunity. You can instill passion. They are NOT a burden. They are nursing’s future.

    1. @ Michael Well said on both accounts. Too much bark and not enough bite, and yes nursing students need to be nurtured and educated, not tortured. Thanks for your comments.

  4. i watched chicken soup (nurse jackie) and had several thoughts…apparently the media related nursing organizations were pissed at how nurses were portrayed. In my 10 years of experience…MD residents were told in a meeting to NOT fraternize with the nursing staff because some residents were screwing nurses… a doctor got fired recently because he and a nurse at my hosp. were having sex and got caught (different hospital than the fraternization speech hosp.) My first 2 years of nursing at the hospital- 2 nurses were busted for drug abuse and stealing narcs from the hospital…media related nursing organizations bitch at how showtime is presenting them and ER and Grey’s and yet dont do enough to promote nursing as a discipline over the last 20 years. It’s still treated as a gender- look at your smock ordering catalogs..hm- lets see- floral prints….pastel…girly….yeah- that does wonders for the nursing profession as a discipline instead of a gender… great. These organizations make so much noise about HOW nurses are portrayed and yet dont bother to be proactive on their own right for showing nurses.

    side note- the preceptor that Nurse Jackie is dealing with and how she and the English doctor treat her in chicken soup…hmmm- it’s a reality- nurses sometimes feel like they are above teaching and training a nursing student- I LOVE nursing students. You have an opportunity. You can instill passion. They are NOT a burden. They are nursing’s future.

    1. @ Michael Well said on both accounts. Too much bark and not enough bite, and yes nursing students need to be nurtured and educated, not tortured. Thanks for your comments.

    1. @ Sardonic Hate is such a strong word. I just don’t agree with how the character is reflected as a nurse.

    1. @ Sardonic Hate is such a strong word. I just don’t agree with how the character is reflected as a nurse.

  5. @ Nicole I agree, I was quite let down by HawthoRNe, but it won’t convince me to watch Nurse Jackie. TV is TV.

  6. @ Nicole I agree, I was quite let down by HawthoRNe, but it won’t convince me to watch Nurse Jackie. TV is TV.

  7. Hwathorne totally unrealistic and cliche. Somebody tell me why the character playing her daughter looks older than her. Nurse Jackie on the other hand was closer to the real thing and the theme of good nurse vs. not so good character morally is genius. The addiction part though unpleasent is reality (to some) in the nurse profession.

  8. Hwathorne totally unrealistic and cliche. Somebody tell me why the character playing her daughter looks older than her. Nurse Jackie on the other hand was closer to the real thing and the theme of good nurse vs. not so good character morally is genius. The addiction part though unpleasent is reality (to some) in the nurse profession.

  9. Hawthorn is extremely unrealistic and is a disgrace to the nursing profession! Young hot nurse gives hand job to the patient!! WHAT!

  10. Hawthorn is extremely unrealistic and is a disgrace to the nursing profession! Young hot nurse gives hand job to the patient!! WHAT!

  11. I also did a post on the TV shows – http://katiebeern.blogspot.com/2009/05/nurses-on-tv-sitcoms.html

    I don’t think we’re saying we don’t like shows like Nurse Jackie because they don’t portray nurses as the angelic Florence Nightengale character – but there doesn’t seem to be a proper balance of the good nurse/bad nurse image. It’s all negative. That’s why I kind of like Mercy – although their characters could use a little more depth and the script (at least for the pilot) is very two-dimensional.

    But, maybe this will spawn more nurse shows that have better character development and really take a deep dive into the world of nursing!

    1. @ KatieBeeRN Well said. I have the same kind of hope that other shows may develop that give a much better positive portrayal. I have high hopes for HawthoRNe.

  12. I also did a post on the TV shows – http://katiebeern.blogspot.com/2009/05/nurses-on-tv-sitcoms.html

    I don’t think we’re saying we don’t like shows like Nurse Jackie because they don’t portray nurses as the angelic Florence Nightengale character – but there doesn’t seem to be a proper balance of the good nurse/bad nurse image. It’s all negative. That’s why I kind of like Mercy – although their characters could use a little more depth and the script (at least for the pilot) is very two-dimensional.

    But, maybe this will spawn more nurse shows that have better character development and really take a deep dive into the world of nursing!

    1. @ KatieBeeRN Well said. I have the same kind of hope that other shows may develop that give a much better positive portrayal. I have high hopes for HawthoRNe.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

