Ever Made A Mistake? Did You ‘Pay’ For It?

So, when you were in your 20’s did you make any mistakes? Did you have any lapse in your judgment? About anything, anything at all?

I’m pretty sure you did. Heck, I’m pretty sure I we still do! We all have moments of ‘idiocy’.

After the ‘moment’ we pick our face up off the floor, brush off our shoulders and figure out what the heck happened, and did anyone get hurt. Namely anyone besides yourself! Our actions always have consequences (action = reaction) and in my opinion. The level of idiocy can and does affect those around you, your loved ones, your friends, and even complete strangers. So after the smoke settles we all have to take stock in how ‘stupid’ we really are were.

Maybe it’s just me, but if my ‘mo-moment’ (yes another phrase I have coined) only affects or harms me personally, then I get what I deserve. If on the other hand your ‘mo-moment’ harms or hurts someone other than yourself… you have more damage control ahead of you. God forbid you physically harm someone because you were an idiot. Our ‘mo-moments’ have the potential to seriously affect and change those around us so if all you did was mess something up for yourself, congratulations you get another chance. Another chance to NOT do it again. (This is excluding severe incidents which I won’t care to discuss)

Which brings me to Michael Phelps. You remember him don’t you? Yeah, he was that insignificant swimmer-guy who nonchalantly won 8 Olympic Gold medals in the summer of 2008… broke all kinds of individual and team swimming event records.. holds more ‘records’ in his sport at the ripe age of 23 then most get there entire career.

Oh he’s also the kid professional athlete who screwed up and was caught smoking marijuana.

Via Wikipedia:

In early 2009, Phelps admitted to "behavior which was regrettable and demonstrated bad judgment" following the publication of a photo by the British tabloid, News of the World, showing him using a bong, a device used for smoking marijuana.[18] Following an investigation, the Richland County Sheriff’s Department announced on February 16 that Phelps would not be prosecuted in connection with the incident because there was not enough evidence.[19] USA Swimming suspended Phelps from swimming competitively for three months, and Kellogg’s announced that it would not renew his endorsement contract.[20] According to Vanno, which tracks companies’ brand reputations, Kellogg’s brand reputation was significantly damaged after dropping Michael Phelps.[21] 

Sounds like a lapse in judgment? Yep, definitely a ‘mo-moment’.

Well he served out his suspension, he fully admitted his idiocy, he never lied about his action or tried to cover it up, he never made it into something else. He paid his dues, lost endorsements, he served his suspension all the while never belly-aching about it. In fact he almost decided to step away from the sport he loves at one point due to that unfortunate ‘mo-moment’.

Well Friday was his first time ‘back in the saddle’, and he proved once and for all this kid has got the makings of greatness.

I would hope by now they would let go of his ‘mo-moment’ and move on. Yes, I too berated the kid when it happened. But, I admit I was wrong. I mean this young man has had to deal with pressures that I can’t even imagine. Being a professional in the ‘limelight’ in your early 20’s has got to be tough. And in my opinion, his lapse of judgment was bad, but nothing compared to what some other ‘hollywood-types’ and ‘professional athletes’ have done. The boy simply harmed himself and his image, nothing more. He didn’t physically hurt anyone, didn’t damage anyone emotionally, no did he KILL anyone.

I say we cut him just a little slack and let him do his damn-thang.

What do you think?

Carpe Diem

4 thoughts on “Ever Made A Mistake? Did You ‘Pay’ For It?

  1. Hi Sean, I was checking out you website and looking through some blogs. This is very neat. I like all the fitness stuff. I am always interested in learning about fitness and wellness. One day, hopefully soon, my body will listen to my head and change all the things I need to change. Like exercising and eating right. I know I will feel better I have done it before. It’s just the getting started that seems so hard, making the time. Keep up the good work with your education fitness trainer.

  2. Hi Sean, I was checking out you website and looking through some blogs. This is very neat. I like all the fitness stuff. I am always interested in learning about fitness and wellness. One day, hopefully soon, my body will listen to my head and change all the things I need to change. Like exercising and eating right. I know I will feel better I have done it before. It’s just the getting started that seems so hard, making the time. Keep up the good work with your education fitness trainer.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!