I’m Taking The BS(N) Plunge!

clip_image001Image Source: TripAdvisor

There is no turning back now. It’s official. I’m a student (again). I’m a student for the 4th time.

As of yesterday the journey to my Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing (BSN) has begun.

So here’s a little history.

I already HAVE one Bachelor’s degree. I have a Bachelor’s of Science in Exercise and Sport Science with a concentration in Athletic Training. As most of you know, I’m not actively practicing as an ATC these days. I am a full-time RN.

Being a nurse and the nursing field is actually my 3rd career. Yes, you read that right, 3rd career.

Quick rewind of my career and education:

  • Entered college as an Engineering major
  • Dropped Engineering major after 2 yrs – started Exercise Sport Science
  • Graduated after 5 more years of school
  • During college and after graduation worked for Retail chain
  • First year post graduation continued work in Retail as well as did per diem personal training
  • First couple jobs as an ATC was horrible due to low pay.
  • Left ATC world, back to retail world for better pay. Became a manager for 2 yrs.
  • Realized how much I did not like the life of retail – back to ATC
  • ATC for another couple years – got hurt as well as kindly reminded of lifestyle and lack of pay
  • Applied for nursing school. Back to school (2nd time) to finish pre-req’s for RN diploma school
  • RN diploma school (3rd time) – graduated
  • Working as Full-time RN – now delving back into personal training
  • Seeking Bachelor’s in Nursing to ensure long-term career placement and advancement. (4th time)

Whew.

Yes, it’s been a long journey and there doesn’t seem to be an end. This time around my BSN won’t take too long since I already HAVE a Bachelor’s in a health related field.

Luckily I will only need a total of 3 semesters. 3 semesters later I will attain my Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing.

Woo Hoo.

Wish me luck.

I still want to blog about my nursing world, just don’t know how it will work into my current blog’s state of affairs?

I thought about creating another blog? But that would be such a hassle.

I guess I’ll keep on blogging here although the darn name and theme will confuse the heck out of my visitors. I have visitors from the fitness and exercise world, then I have my nurse and health care world visitors.

I wish I could find a happy medium.

Maybe I jumped the gun by changing my domain name?? Grr.

I would love to hear suggestions from my readers (the few I have).

  1. What do you think about my new domain name forward/change from the mystrongmedicine to blog.bethenextstep?
  2. Where should I blog about fitness?
  3. Where should I blog about nursing?
  4. Should I separate my blogging themes or keep them all in one place?
  5. Should I go back to mystrongmedicine.com? Or keep blog.bethenextstep.com?
  6. Is my blog more and more confusing these days?

I truly look forward to any and all suggestions. If not through the comments, please send me an email. I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks for sticking around my merry-go round-like blog.

Carpe Diem

26 thoughts on “I’m Taking The BS(N) Plunge!

  1. I agree with everyone else – stay and blog about all the topics you want to right here at one location. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck on your new endeavor, we’ll be cheering you along the way!

    1. @ Geena Thanks! I can’t thank you and everyone enough for sharing your thoughts with me. It helps me so much.

  2. I agree with everyone else – stay and blog about all the topics you want to right here at one location. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck on your new endeavor, we’ll be cheering you along the way!

    1. @ Geena Thanks! I can’t thank you and everyone enough for sharing your thoughts with me. It helps me so much.

  3. Congrats on taking this new journey!!! Wow. It’s never ending is it?!?
    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve gone to university for 8 years now. Crazy. Once you get your BSN you’ll feel so elated you stuck through it. Totally cheering you on here!!!

  4. Congrats on taking this new journey!!! Wow. It’s never ending is it?!?
    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve gone to university for 8 years now. Crazy. Once you get your BSN you’ll feel so elated you stuck through it. Totally cheering you on here!!!

  5. @ Phil Thanks Phil. I think I’m sort of stuck with the domain name(s) I’ve chosen. I think after hearing from a couple readers, I should just worry about blogging, and not so much about my theme and direction of my blog. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you. Thanks again.

  6. @ Phil Thanks Phil. I think I’m sort of stuck with the domain name(s) I’ve chosen. I think after hearing from a couple readers, I should just worry about blogging, and not so much about my theme and direction of my blog. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you. Thanks again.

  7. Sean,

    Good to hear the news and we all wish you well.

    As for the course of your blogging, I’ve found myself in a similar situation: many of my blog’s subscribers tend to be healthcare peeps, and although my blog does cover health-related themes, I blog about all sort of things.

    I chose my own name as my domain primarily because I felt that I could use my blog to convey my thoughts and not have to worry about a niche. If you want a commercial blog, most bloggers are probably wise to stick to niche-blogging. If, on the other hand, you want to have a primary “home camp” online that allows you to do your thing as you please, then don’t worry about your themes.

    Anyway, always good to talk with you on Twitter and I wish you well on your BSN. Cheers!

    Phil

  8. Sean,

    Good to hear the news and we all wish you well.

    As for the course of your blogging, I’ve found myself in a similar situation: many of my blog’s subscribers tend to be healthcare peeps, and although my blog does cover health-related themes, I blog about all sort of things.

    I chose my own name as my domain primarily because I felt that I could use my blog to convey my thoughts and not have to worry about a niche. If you want a commercial blog, most bloggers are probably wise to stick to niche-blogging. If, on the other hand, you want to have a primary “home camp” online that allows you to do your thing as you please, then don’t worry about your themes.

    Anyway, always good to talk with you on Twitter and I wish you well on your BSN. Cheers!

    Phil

  9. I second everything that Carrie says, about being yourself AND keeping your blog here. After all, a BSN is a “next step” right? Seems like it fits perfectly with your “Be the Next Step” theme. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And CONGRATS on your next step, by the way!!! Way to go, can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!

    1. @ Caroline Thanks for your kind words. I think I’ll heed yours and Carrie’s advice. I’ll stick with what I got!

  10. I second everything that Carrie says, about being yourself AND keeping your blog here. After all, a BSN is a “next step” right? Seems like it fits perfectly with your “Be the Next Step” theme. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And CONGRATS on your next step, by the way!!! Way to go, can’t wait to hear how it goes for you!

    1. @ Caroline Thanks for your kind words. I think I’ll heed yours and Carrie’s advice. I’ll stick with what I got!

  11. Ah Sean?

    I feel like I have some room to comment here for a few reasons. To begin with, I wanted to say congratulations on taking the plunge to get your BSN! I think that is a wonderful step and one that will be very useful to you, even if you change your career plans again someday! Best of luck as you embark on the program!

    I won’t ramble on with my story to convince you why I feel qualified to comment on this topic because this is your blog, not mine. But let’s say to sum it up I can relate to taking the long road on the career journey (it’s the road we were meant to take, all along, I believe!), and I can also relate to not knowing what focus to put on your blog. I have contemplated splitting up my blog several times and actually do have beginnings of other blogs on various sites where I tried to splinter up my topics and compartmentalize them into various blogging themes.

    So let me tell you something. Just BE YOURSELF. People love your blog because they love who you are as a WHOLE person. Not just who you are as a fitness guru or who you are as a nurse or who you are as a person separate from your career. But all of you. Your blog doesn’t have to stick to just one topic or theme to be a valid, legitimate blog. You can combine all of your loves in the one place, and people will still read it, devotedly. Maybe they won’t love every single topic you write, but that’s the case even if you were to stick with the same theme all the time.

    Anyway – I hope I don’t sound too preachy. Honestly, I think you should just keep everything on the same blog, though. People enjoy reading your blog because it is YOUR story. It is not just Sean’s fitness story or Sean’s nursing story – it is Sean’s life. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can write about whatever you want, and I bet most of your readers will stick around.

    Take it from your fellow morning buddy who also happens to be a multiple career track/multiple blog theme twin sister of yours somehow. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Take care!
    Carrie ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. @ Carrie Thank you so much for keeping things in perspective for me. It’s nice to hear that people are reading my stuff and not dissecting it. You are the best morning buddy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Ah Sean?

    I feel like I have some room to comment here for a few reasons. To begin with, I wanted to say congratulations on taking the plunge to get your BSN! I think that is a wonderful step and one that will be very useful to you, even if you change your career plans again someday! Best of luck as you embark on the program!

    I won’t ramble on with my story to convince you why I feel qualified to comment on this topic because this is your blog, not mine. But let’s say to sum it up I can relate to taking the long road on the career journey (it’s the road we were meant to take, all along, I believe!), and I can also relate to not knowing what focus to put on your blog. I have contemplated splitting up my blog several times and actually do have beginnings of other blogs on various sites where I tried to splinter up my topics and compartmentalize them into various blogging themes.

    So let me tell you something. Just BE YOURSELF. People love your blog because they love who you are as a WHOLE person. Not just who you are as a fitness guru or who you are as a nurse or who you are as a person separate from your career. But all of you. Your blog doesn’t have to stick to just one topic or theme to be a valid, legitimate blog. You can combine all of your loves in the one place, and people will still read it, devotedly. Maybe they won’t love every single topic you write, but that’s the case even if you were to stick with the same theme all the time.

    Anyway – I hope I don’t sound too preachy. Honestly, I think you should just keep everything on the same blog, though. People enjoy reading your blog because it is YOUR story. It is not just Sean’s fitness story or Sean’s nursing story – it is Sean’s life. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can write about whatever you want, and I bet most of your readers will stick around.

    Take it from your fellow morning buddy who also happens to be a multiple career track/multiple blog theme twin sister of yours somehow. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Take care!
    Carrie ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. @ Carrie Thank you so much for keeping things in perspective for me. It’s nice to hear that people are reading my stuff and not dissecting it. You are the best morning buddy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

