Nursing Your Options

imageImage Source: Deviant Art

I just read a couple articles on the nursing shortage and the stress a new graduate nurse has to endure. The reality of the overwhelming responsibility that a nurse has can be, and absolutely is overwhelming. In fact it’s down right BRAIN SCRAMBLING!  (I had to steal that name from a fellow blogger. Thanks Caroline)

Being a nurse, surviving and/or even flourishing in the nursing world is not easy by any means.  In fact it’s damn hard. Just ask my fellow blogger Caroline, or Kim.

But see, that’s just it. Nobody said it would be. A career in nursing is not for everyone. If it were easy, everyone would do it. The hard is what makes it great.

Nursing is still in my mind, by far the greatest career path you can choose, I’ve talked about it before.  The options are limitless. I was just telling a fellow colleague last night, you could change the scenery (the job) you are doing as a nurse every 6 months and at the end of your career, you still would not have explored the vast number of job opportunities and options that exist for a nurse. If you remember, I’ve discussed some of the places you’ll meet a nurse. The only thing that limits you is your desire.

That’s why I can’t understand how new grads would quit? Yes, maybe quit your job and find a new avenue. But, quit being a nurse? Quit and leave the career all together???

I don’t know about you. But my RN license is something I’m damn proud of. I earned it. I busted my ass. I made many sacrifices to reach this point in my career. I think others would say the same thing.

After all you did, all you learned, and all you sacrificed, how could you even entertain the option of leaving nursing??

There are options.

I do hope any nurse that is at the end of their ‘rope’, and wants to quit there job will at least stay in the field of nursing. To do otherwise would simply limit your future.

To all my fellow colleagues out there. Thank you for doing what you do, and enduring what you have. Stay strong.

Carpe Diem

5 thoughts on “Nursing Your Options

  1. First of all, thanks for the ping. 🙂

    Second of all, I never realized how appropriate the phrase “Brainscramble” would be to life OUTSIDE of nursing school! 🙂

    Thirdly, great article…really sad but it really emphasizes how important new grad programs really are. I’m starting to think that in the end, it doesn’t really matter what unit you start on, as long as it’s well-supportive and an environment that gives you the confidence to move forward and more importantly, the confidence to ask questions (I only say that because I had a preceptor who I felt became a patient safety issue because he always made me feel like an absolute fool when I asked questions…made me not want to ask him anything at all, which would have been really unsafe.) I guess I feel that our role as bloggers is to bestow the knowledge that you CAN find a good place to start, and there’s nothing wrong with looking until you do.

    I feel the same way about my shiny new license! It’s mine, I worked my ass off for it, and I don’t want anyone taking it away! I’m like the kid in the sandbox who doesn’t want to share their new toy. Ha.

    Excellent post, Strong!

  2. First of all, thanks for the ping. 🙂

    Second of all, I never realized how appropriate the phrase “Brainscramble” would be to life OUTSIDE of nursing school! 🙂

    Thirdly, great article…really sad but it really emphasizes how important new grad programs really are. I’m starting to think that in the end, it doesn’t really matter what unit you start on, as long as it’s well-supportive and an environment that gives you the confidence to move forward and more importantly, the confidence to ask questions (I only say that because I had a preceptor who I felt became a patient safety issue because he always made me feel like an absolute fool when I asked questions…made me not want to ask him anything at all, which would have been really unsafe.) I guess I feel that our role as bloggers is to bestow the knowledge that you CAN find a good place to start, and there’s nothing wrong with looking until you do.

    I feel the same way about my shiny new license! It’s mine, I worked my ass off for it, and I don’t want anyone taking it away! I’m like the kid in the sandbox who doesn’t want to share their new toy. Ha.

    Excellent post, Strong!

  3. Pingback: Healthcare Today

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

