Nursing shortage: 1 in 5 quits within first year.

Yes, the obvious can be somewhat tough to handle. We nurses ARE overwhelmed. Yes, we nurses do get that "I want to quit" feeling QUITE often.

In the state of the nursing world, a shortage of nurses, is slowly turning into a shortage of time. Time needed to train, educate and properly orient those who are just entering our world.
Hitting the ground running and biting off more than you can chew is now the norm.
The question is, how much longer is this going to last.

Sometimes a passion for your career isn’t enough.

My hope is that we can nurture our newest additions to the world of nursing so that they won’t want to quit.

Carpe Diem

5 thoughts on “Nursing shortage: 1 in 5 quits within first year.

  1. I made it through the first year and only felt like quitting every other month. I can understand being thrown to the wolves, it happened to me as well as others. In fact of the 12 people who were hired in the 9 months around me, only 3 of us are left. Most moved on to other nursing units, but still it’s a lot. I made it a goal when I became a charge nurse to help the newest among us make it through the first year adn thrive. It ain’t easy.

  2. I made it through the first year and only felt like quitting every other month. I can understand being thrown to the wolves, it happened to me as well as others. In fact of the 12 people who were hired in the 9 months around me, only 3 of us are left. Most moved on to other nursing units, but still it’s a lot. I made it a goal when I became a charge nurse to help the newest among us make it through the first year adn thrive. It ain’t easy.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

