Get Some Rest

I often hear this from patient’s and patient’s families.

"My doctor told me to get some rest"; "That’s why I’m in the hospital"

What?

Did you say get some rest?

My prompt reply is always, " Well, someone lied to you" as I hold back my cackle-like laugh.

I’m not sure if you know this or not, but we nurses have one of the worst duties some times.

In the middle of the night, it’s our responsibility to assess your condition and ensure your safety. And one of the ways we do that is by waking you up and taking your vital signs.

In fact, I jokingly say to the patient, "We have to wake you up to ask you if you’re sleeping? And if so, would you like something to help you sleep?"

Sorry, a lil’ nursing humor.

Carpe Diem

12 thoughts on “Get Some Rest

  1. Oh wow. Where to start?Last week I spent a few days in the hospital… It took me a week to catch up on the sleep deficit that accumulated while I was there. The truth is, the Nurses gave me drugs that got me to the point where I could roll over in bed (and even get up and go to the restroom on my own!), so I'm not complaining.Ya'll are Saints. Seriously. Coming from an EMT who has now seen both sides of it… 🙂

  2. @ EpiJunky I remember reading your blog posts about it! I’m so glad things turned out OK for you. As always thanks for visiting and commenting!

  3. @ EpiJunky I remember reading your blog posts about it! I’m so glad things turned out OK for you. As always thanks for visiting and commenting!

  4. Oh wow. Where to start?

    Last week I spent a few days in the hospital… It took me a week to catch up on the sleep deficit that accumulated while I was there. The truth is, the Nurses gave me drugs that got me to the point where I could roll over in bed (and even get up and go to the restroom on my own!), so I’m not complaining.

    Ya’ll are Saints. Seriously.

    Coming from an EMT who has now seen both sides of it… 🙂

  5. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Sorry, having work nights for 3 years straight now, I had to laugh at this. You see, I’m the one who wakes the patients up at midnight and 0400 (and sometimes numerous times in between) to check their vital signs, turn them, make sure they’re arousable, etc.

    In fact, I laughed at the quote from that patient because I usually tell them, “You came to the wrong place if you want to sleep. You can sleep at home. We’re here to take care of you,” when they complain about being awakened during the night.

  6. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Sorry, having work nights for 3 years straight now, I had to laugh at this. You see, I’m the one who wakes the patients up at midnight and 0400 (and sometimes numerous times in between) to check their vital signs, turn them, make sure they’re arousable, etc.

    In fact, I laughed at the quote from that patient because I usually tell them, “You came to the wrong place if you want to sleep. You can sleep at home. We’re here to take care of you,” when they complain about being awakened during the night.

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

