STRESS: The Universal Sign

Why do neighboring units and fellow nurses get so upset at you for calling them to give report?

As if I’ve done something wrong?

I always get greeted with the AAAHHHHAAAAWWW (big sigh) whenever I call to give report. Its apparently my fault this patient is being transferred/admitted to your unit?

OH. I’m sorry.
You’re short staffed? You had a call off? You have multiple things going on at once?

I empathize and can ABSOLUTELY relate. In fact I’m doggie paddling in the very same sea of sh@t. The last time I checked WE’RE ALL trying to survive the same storm. You’re not alone my compadre. We’re all being pulled in every direction possible. We’re all getting abused. We’re all being yelled at. We are all over worked, under paid and definitely under appreciated And yes we’re ALL just a lil’ stressed. But your fellow nurse who is simply doing their job is not at fault. Instead of pointing fingers at the very same people who are in the trenches with you, maybe you could exercise a lil bit of what you need yourself. Patience, tolerance. And understanding. There is strength in numbers. Remember when you point a finger at someone, there are 4 more fingers pointing back at yourself. I’m right here with you my brothers and sisters.

Carpe diem
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

8 thoughts on “STRESS: The Universal Sign

  1. He he. I surprise many nurses from ED and ICU because I call them to get report. It’s easier for me, if I can just get it early in a convenient time. Most nurses agree if I ask to give me 10 minutes before sending the patient. It makes things smoother and they usually don’t send patients while I’m pulling chest tubes for example if I warn them this is what I’m going to do in the next 5 minutes.

    I know what you mean though.

  2. He he. I surprise many nurses from ED and ICU because I call them to get report. It’s easier for me, if I can just get it early in a convenient time. Most nurses agree if I ask to give me 10 minutes before sending the patient. It makes things smoother and they usually don’t send patients while I’m pulling chest tubes for example if I warn them this is what I’m going to do in the next 5 minutes.

    I know what you mean though.

  3. Can I frame this ,pretty please?!!and hang in on all in patient units??!!The admit you are getting from me was just ventilating carbon when I got them….Now they resemble humanoid…your turn !

  4. Can I frame this ,pretty please?!!and hang in on all in patient units??!!The admit you are getting from me was just ventilating carbon when I got them….Now they resemble humanoid…your turn !

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

