Family, Friends, and the Hippo

OK.

I work in a small community hospital. The hospital functions like the bar Cheers. “Where ev-ery-bo-dy knows your na-me” (Yes, I hummed the tune in my head)

For most small townies this is a great thing. There is a comfort level and town security blanket that gives you that ‘warm-fuzzy’ feeling. I myself admittedly am a part of this group whether I like it or not.

I worked at Big-Shiny Teaching Hospital for 2 years before transferring back close to home. In fact the Hospital is less than 3 miles away from my driveway. When I arrived at the new job, new hospital, my ‘orientation’ to the hospital included reuniting with many childhood memories that came in the form of co-workers, other staff and of course patients.

I do my best to keep it separate, but my darn family and friends can’t seem to grasp the whole HIPAA concept.

“Did you hear that so-and-so got admitted to the hospital?”

“Did you see so-and-so at work today?”

“Did you know so-and-so is sick?”

“So-and-so had surgery, how did she do?”

Confidentiality has no leg to stand on when it comes to town gossip. And the chatty-Kathy’s of the town get really upset with me when I become tone-deaf or simply ignore anything that is said in reference to work or the hospital. I play a mean game of ‘Dodge Ball’.

I guess my obvious rebuttal,”I can lose my job and my license” doesn’t ease their social suffering.

Heh heh..the trials and tribulations of small town nursing.

Carpe Diem

16 thoughts on “Family, Friends, and the Hippo

  1. I know exactly what you mean!

    Even though I’m just a CNA, I can definitely lose my certification for this, and the disciplinary report will appear when I apply for my CRT license– making it VERY hard to get a license.

    It’s definitely not worth it to me. I just continue to tell people, “I don’t know anything about that,” “I’m not allowed to say,” or, “You are going to have to ask someone else.”

  2. I know exactly what you mean!

    Even though I’m just a CNA, I can definitely lose my certification for this, and the disciplinary report will appear when I apply for my CRT license– making it VERY hard to get a license.

    It’s definitely not worth it to me. I just continue to tell people, “I don’t know anything about that,” “I’m not allowed to say,” or, “You are going to have to ask someone else.”

  3. This happens to me everyday. My town is pretty small, and I live and work in the “main part” of town. Every time I go into the local Publix (grocery store), I run into a former patient, former family member, staff person, current family member…you get the picture. It’s a little weird. Ok, a lot weird. But, it takes me 5 minutes to get to work. My last job was in the big shiny teaching hospital (LOL, love that) an hour away. I don’t miss that drive one little bit.

  4. This happens to me everyday. My town is pretty small, and I live and work in the “main part” of town. Every time I go into the local Publix (grocery store), I run into a former patient, former family member, staff person, current family member…you get the picture. It’s a little weird. Ok, a lot weird. But, it takes me 5 minutes to get to work. My last job was in the big shiny teaching hospital (LOL, love that) an hour away. I don’t miss that drive one little bit.

  5. I can soooooooooo relate! They just dont get it! I didnt work this long and hard to have my licensed yanked just so they can have the “scoop”….if ya cared so much you would go to the hospital and see him or her!! Geesh! Don’t get me going!! LOL…..

  6. I can soooooooooo relate! They just dont get it! I didnt work this long and hard to have my licensed yanked just so they can have the “scoop”….if ya cared so much you would go to the hospital and see him or her!! Geesh! Don’t get me going!! LOL…..

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

