Heavy Hearted Holiday's

I wanted to take the opportunity to recognize the sacrifices that we healthcare professionals endure during the lengthy holiday season(s).

We don’t get to close the Hospital for the holiday

We can’t tell our patients, “Can you be sick after the holiday?”

We each have made, and will continue to make those personal sacrifices. It’s not always voluntary, in fact if we had the choice, we’d choose not to work on the day of the holiday.

We have each made additional plans and arrangements to see and spend time with our loved ones. We can’t see them because we are working, so we attempt a gathering before or after the celebrated day.

I know how it feels. I know how frustrating it can be to miss out on all those lovely annual festivities. The loved ones you haven’t seen in so long. The stories. The laughing. The crying. The love-filled rooms of warmth and comfort.

And lets not forget about the FOOD. Oh.. Everything from the main dish to all the decadent desserts.

If you’re lucky, some of you will work with a group of fine individuals that will have their own ‘work-family festivities’ at work (I know I did/do). It’s not home, but it’s equally as significant.

We all have families. Some of us have children. Some of us live too far away to visit. Some of us are managers of a unit that is short staffed. We all have made the sacrifices.

I’m here to tell you it matters.

I’ve been in your shoes, I’ve walked in those trenches.

And I appreciate all your efforts.

Just remember..

When you reflect on how discontent you are about having to make those sacrifices.

Please keep in mind:

Today you’re not the patient.

Thank you again for all that you do.

Carpe Diem

5 thoughts on “Heavy Hearted Holiday's

  1. Pingback: Healthcare Today
  2. We give a lot, don’t we? I hate telling people they have to come in on the holiday–it wasn’t too long ago I was getting told to work, but I just tell them–what if it was your mom, dad, gramma? Who would take care of them? 24/7/365–that’s our life.

    But, we have jobs. And more than likely, always will. THAT’s something to be thankful for, isn’t it?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. We give a lot, don’t we? I hate telling people they have to come in on the holiday–it wasn’t too long ago I was getting told to work, but I just tell them–what if it was your mom, dad, gramma? Who would take care of them? 24/7/365–that’s our life.

    But, we have jobs. And more than likely, always will. THAT’s something to be thankful for, isn’t it?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

