A Good Feeling

It usually happens when you least expect it, and then it becomes a part of you.

There are many ways we nurses’ can and do get recognized, although it’s very few and far between.

We receive it from our education, from our co-workers, from our colleagues, and every once in a great while from our superiors. Surprise

The other day I got that certain kind of recognition that makes all the long-days, and tiresome shifts worthwhile. This type of recognition reminds you of why you became a nurse, and why you remain a nurse.

I was taking care of a patient in the PACU. She had an OB-GYN type of procedure. I was taking care of her, helping her recover from her surgery in a safe and controlled manner in my usual fashion. “Are you warm enough?”, “How is your pain?”, “Are you comfortable?”

Giving pain medication as needed.

I was encouraging her to cough, even though it hurt to cough. I explained to here the ramifications of not coughing, especially after surgery, no matter how minor it was. I demonstrated the use of a pillow to help less the surge of pain she was having.

I gave her as much information as I could on pain management. Making sure she understood the difference between controlling your pain, and chasing your pain.

During all of my ‘normal’ routines, this particular patient ever-so slightly placed her warm hand on my forearm, and with the stare of appreciation she calmly and quietly said,” You have a wonderful bedside manner. Thank You. You’re a good nurse”.

Blushing

It caught me off guard for a few seconds, and now looking back on it.. I think I was staring at her. (Nerd)

I politely smiled and gave the most genuine thank you I could create, as I continued about my responsibilities.

In my heart, I wanted to give her a great big bear hug and tell how much she made my day… to tell her that her kind words had validated all my efforts to become and be the nurse I am today.

Her thank you meant more to me than any high marks on any evaluation, meant more to me than any certification I have attained. Her words will help me through the next ‘tornado’ of events that will happen.. as they always do happen to us nurses’.

It’s one thing to hear from a third party that a particular patient like you, and valued your care, but to hear it from the source… was priceless.

I think my heart grew a little bigger and my face was a lil’ more red that day.

I LOVE being a nurse.

Carpe Diem

Bookmark and Share

19 thoughts on “A Good Feeling

  1. Strong, this is what sets you apart from everyone else in the world – your quest and desire for service. You have a heart of service, and I enjoy reading such genuine posts.

  2. Strong, this is what sets you apart from everyone else in the world – your quest and desire for service. You have a heart of service, and I enjoy reading such genuine posts.

  3. This is such a runningwildly-type post. You made me smile. Especially with the bit at the end of “I LOVE being a nurse.” So so true. We are blessed to be called into this great vocation.

  4. This is such a runningwildly-type post. You made me smile. Especially with the bit at the end of “I LOVE being a nurse.” So so true. We are blessed to be called into this great vocation.

  5. Those are the comments that I live for! Enjoy any praise that you get because they will hold you up in your darkest days. If I get burned out, I just remember my favorite patients and smile.

  6. Those are the comments that I live for! Enjoy any praise that you get because they will hold you up in your darkest days. If I get burned out, I just remember my favorite patients and smile.

  7. I love those moments! Yesterday I gave a flu shot and the guy goes “I didn’t even feel it!” to which I responded “Well, you veterans are a pretty stoic population.” And he goes “TAKE MY DAMN COMPLIMENT LITTLE GIRL!!!”

    Doncha just love those little moments that really make it all worth it?

  8. I love those moments! Yesterday I gave a flu shot and the guy goes “I didn’t even feel it!” to which I responded “Well, you veterans are a pretty stoic population.” And he goes “TAKE MY DAMN COMPLIMENT LITTLE GIRL!!!”

    Doncha just love those little moments that really make it all worth it?

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

