What is your Vice?

We all have our nursing vices. That one thing that we as a nurse have to ‘gear-up’ for just to make it through the experience. We have to ‘stomach’ some pretty disgusting things throughout our day, and for the most part we don’t think twice about it. BUT there is always one thing that every nurse has a tough time with.

Me?

Decubitus Ulcers.

I mean the really bad ones. Like a stage IV that is necrotic, tunneling and oozing the most mal-odorous funk-da-fied drainage known to man. Sick

Yeah… ya know what I’m talking about. That ischial or sacral ulcer that is tunneling so bad that you can fit your fist as far up as your elbow in there.

I blame my vice on nursing school. LOL

There was a particular patient that every student had the pleasure of taking care of. We all had our rotation of taking care of this certain patient, since the patient was almost a permanent fixture in the facility.

The patient had 2 very large stage IV’s on their backside that were exactly as I described above. And due to the lack of help and staffing, we all teamed up on a daily basis to change the dressings. I loss count on how many times I saw those two horrifying sites. They are forever burned into my brain, as well as the foggy aroma that emanated from them!

So what was, or what is your vice? We all have one.

Carpe Diem

Technorati Tags: ,


Bookmark and Share

19 thoughts on “What is your Vice?

  1. Sputum (or Super Phlegm as I like to call it) makes my stomach turn. Cheerios also. To me they smell like death. And to the person who had the PT with the stage IV ulcer…did anyone refer that poor soul to get a bone scan for osteomyelitis? I know it’s disgusting to look at. But if it’s at the point where you can “fit your elbow in there” odds are they have a bone infection

  2. Mine is suctioning and cleaning nasty trachs. Give me a decub or even a GI bleed anyday. I even worked it out with a fellow nurse one day that I would clean up her GI bleed pt if she would do my trach care.

  3. Mine is suctioning and cleaning nasty trachs. Give me a decub or even a GI bleed anyday. I even worked it out with a fellow nurse one day that I would clean up her GI bleed pt if she would do my trach care.

  4. @ Laura I can agree with some smells!!

    @ Tracit3 That’s a tough deal. We all hate those situations

    @ notratched I can’t say I ever thought about eyes??

    @ Matt I wish you luck on that vice!!

    @ JillRN You can have your wound any day!!

  5. @ Laura I can agree with some smells!!

    @ Tracit3 That’s a tough deal. We all hate those situations

    @ notratched I can’t say I ever thought about eyes??

    @ Matt I wish you luck on that vice!!

    @ JillRN You can have your wound any day!!

  6. Dead in the bed bodies, when the family insist that we need to keep them alive no matter the cost so that Aunt Sally from Kookamunga can come say goodbye, sometime next week….

  7. Dead in the bed bodies, when the family insist that we need to keep them alive no matter the cost so that Aunt Sally from Kookamunga can come say goodbye, sometime next week….

  8. snot and the specialized formulas we use sometime that smells like it already came out of the patient’s butt.

  9. snot and the specialized formulas we use sometime that smells like it already came out of the patient’s butt.

  10. Interesting subject. Mine would have to be feces. Never been able to handle it without a mask and cringing– likely never will.

  11. Eyes. Eyes freak me out. If you have something stuck in your eye or need someone to look around in there, find another nurse, because I’ll be in the corner battling the heebie-jeebies!

  12. Eyes. Eyes freak me out. If you have something stuck in your eye or need someone to look around in there, find another nurse, because I’ll be in the corner battling the heebie-jeebies!

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

