I’m a Nurse

Being a nurse has been a great joy of my life. The only regret and/or complaint I have about nursing and me becoming a nurse is I wish I would have done it earlier in my life! Winking It’s a double edged sword. If I had entered nursing sooner, I would have never met my wife. And as you learned before, I kinda like being married to my wife. So that’s bad.

I have worked in many different arenas in my short time as a Registered Nurse. Each one has taught me more about myself and about me as a nurse.

I entered the nursing world as a new grad in the ICU. And as anyone who knows nursing or the ICU, it is not an easy environment to work in. Let alone start your career as a nurse in the critical care field. Nursing is a tough job, and the ICU is very, very demanding.

I survived my orientation and was a staff nurse for just under a year. Due to scheduling conflicts and personal issues, I left the ICU. I found a job working for an Orthopedic Surgeon. It was a great gig. It combined my previous career as a Certified Athletic Trainer (ATC) and nursing all into one. I worked in the office, rounded on patient’s in the hospital as well as assisted in surgery. I got to see and do things that were pretty darn cool when it comes to Orthopedics.

That job go boring fast for me. I never could shake the Critical Care bug. And the surgeries, at least to me, became very repetitious. So I ventured out again. This time I landed myself in a Level 1 Surgical/Trauma ICU.

I’ve been there ever since. I did go casual for 6 months while I experimented with travel nursing last summer, but I never left the place permanently. My travel nursing experience was an eye opener for me. I learned a lot about what nursing I do and do not like, as well as what kind of nurse I can and should be.

Over the past year I have become CCRN certified and advanced my position on my ICU unit as a senior staff nurse.

Being a nurse is hard. We are required to do so much with such little.

It’s not for the faint of heart, or the weak of stomach. You have to have razor sharp nerves and pinpoint time management accuracy. I liken our job to being a professional juggler.

I’ve tried to chronicle a day in the life of a nurse, but it’s just too damn time consuming and difficult to log everything we do, see, learn and know. May, over at About A Nurse has a great storyline that can give you a great idea of how the flow goes as a nurse!

Carpe Diem

One thought on “I’m a Nurse

Your thoughts....? I'd love to hear from ya!

